PDA

View Full Version : How to make accurate long vertical mitres.

dalpets
16th November 2016, 11:17 PM
Hi,

I am not a professional or hobby carpenter but I have a need to make a one off cabinet with 45 degree mitre corners on the four sides for an amplifier project. The sides are pine - dimensions 89mm x 19mm. I am working to plans.

I have struggled to get accurate mitre joints on the 89 mm vertical sides using a hand mitre saw, not the most basic box type, but one with raised vertical guides & an angle adjustment base.

I've come to the conclusion, that with the tool I have, it is much more difficult to make an accurate mitre, the longer the mitre joint is, in this case 89mm, than for a relatively easy mitre joint on a shallow picture frame.

I don't want to spend large amounts of money for a one off project, so is there a relatively cheap alternative to the tool I have, for more accurate mitres.

Thanks

Luke Maddux
17th November 2016, 07:32 AM
I don't usually say this, but I think that in this case you'd be better off with a machine. If your mitre box isn't cutting correctly, it's probably because it's not sharp enough or there is some kind of "play" or otherwise fault in the setup of the mitre box. Sharpening a saw requires considerable practice and skill, and fixing the mitre box could really be anyone's guess.

So, for a one off project, I would look for a friend in the Adelaide area (almost certainly easy to find on these boards) and use their table saw. By the time you troubleshoot the mitre box and hand saw, it's likely that you would've spent more time solving this problem than just driving somewhere, making the cuts, and driving home.

Best case scenario you get a two-fer and someone can both make your cuts and fix your mitre sawing setup.

Worst case scenario you meet someone with a mutual interest in woodworking and, if I know my Aussie culture, get a free cup of tea out of the deal.

Good luck,
Luke

AlexS
17th November 2016, 07:54 AM