PDA

View Full Version : New Lathe MC1218VD

Brian_P
27th November 2016, 09:13 AM
Hi guys.
I'm an absolute noob at wood turning but I'm very keen to learn all about pens & at a later stage, salt & pepper mills.
I'm on the lookout for a decent mini lathe under $1,000.00. I've looked at some of the sponsors as well as online but finding it hard to get the specs I"m looking for. I found a variable speed, MC1218VD for $440.00 which has a digital speed control readout & thought this might be ideal for pens & mills. I'm pretty sure it's a similar lathe to the one Pop's shed used to sell before they stopped stocking & moving on to the smaller 370W variable speed lathe. The only concern I have is the lowest speed setting of 650rpm which seems common on these smaller budget lathes. Any advice for or against would be very much appreciated.
Wood Lathe MC1218VD | Moonah Machinery (http://www.moonahmachinery.com.au/products-page/lathes/wood-lathe-mc1218vd/)

Wood Lathe MC1218VD - Specifications:

<tbody>
Spindle speeds ~ 3 of variable
650 ~ 1450 RPM 1250 ~ 2800 RPM
1600 ~ 3800 RPM

Distance between openings
460 mm

Swing over bed
300 mm

Head and tailstock tapers
MT2

Spindle thread
1" x 8 TPI

Motor power
550 watts DC variable

</tbody>

(http://www.moonahmachinery.com.au/products-page/dust-extractors/) (http://www.moonahmachinery.com.au/products-page/dust-extractors/)

(http://www.moonahmachinery.com.au/products-page/lathes/) (http://www.moonahmachinery.com.au/products-page/lathes/) (http://www.moonahmachinery.com.au/products-page/mortices/) (http://www.moonahmachinery.com.au/products-page/mortices/)

(http://www.moonahmachinery.com.au/products-page/planer-blade-grinders/)

pommyphil
27th November 2016, 10:02 AM
Well Brian, that's very cheap for the specs. Like about half what you'd expect to pay, so be very sure of the quality, finish, accuracy,back up service ,etc.