PDA

View Full Version : Providence warning

Phily
15th December 2016, 02:02 PM
I've been turning on and off for several decades (far more seriously the last 5yrs) without any major incidents. I'm a fairly cautious turner though quite a few times have fallen into the "I'm only going to be quick" trap and have started turning without protective gear - only to find myself still turning an hour later!

A very enjoyable morning, music in the background, finished off a piece from yesterday which I was very happy with and was well into a second piece - a lovely old lump of redgum with plenty of character. Before getting into the finishing stage, I took a break, took my mask off and grabbed some fresh air. On returning to the lathe and in anticipation of sanding, I decided to put on my full face respirator. I turned up the speed for the finishing cuts, bent over and started to kiss the timber with my freshly sharpened chisel. BAM BAM 2 large pieces straight into my face. No catch, no warning just an explosion.

Had I still been wearing only my safety glasses there is no doubt I would be in hospital right now getting my face stitched up.

I checked the pieces afterward. Absolutely nothing in the timber to indicate that there were any faults. It was only providence that saved me from a very nasty accident.

From now on, its a full face mask for me when doing any turning.

bueller
15th December 2016, 02:19 PM
These sorts of stories are the reason I'm not buying turning tools until I also have all the protective gear and proper dust extraction set up. Safety first, thanks for the reminder!

NeilS
15th December 2016, 03:51 PM
I've been turning on and off for several decades (far more seriously the last 5yrs) without any major incidents. I'm a fairly cautious turner though quite a few times have fallen into the "I'm only going to be quick" trap and have started turning without protective gear - only to find myself still turning an hour later!