PDA

View Full Version : Carbide Tool enquiry - **NEWBIE**

Millertime81
29th December 2016, 10:56 AM
Has anyone had any experience with these tools?

I am shocking at sharpening my standard chisels, and I think this could be a very good alternative.

$66 + postage for the lot?

Appreciate your input.

cheers

https://mcjing.com.au/categorybrowser.aspx?categoryid=75#CHANGEABLECARBIDEWOODTURNINGSET

https://mcjing.com.au/Static/Images/DSC02424.JPG (https://mcjing.com.au/Static/Images/DSC02424.JPG)
<tbody>

https://mcjing.com.au/Static/Images/DSC02477.JPG (https://mcjing.com.au/Static/Images/DSC02477.JPG)
One 12" handle and 6" round bar flat both side with grab locking screw. Also have a clear safety glass. Set included four piece carbide tipped tips, (10mm curve, round, flat and point ) .

</tbody>

Xanthorrhoeas
29th December 2016, 12:00 PM
I have no experience with these carbide tools. My experience with all tools is that the cheapies are often not good value. For example not all Tungsten Carbide is the same quality - some is quite poor/coarse/grainy and will not take or hold a sharp edge. A friend uses the Robert Sorby tct tools and likes them but I haven't seen them in action so do not really know.

Woodturning really needs sharp tools and it is best to learn how to sharpen your tools properly yourself. It is not really that difficult to learn.

I see that you live in Tarragindi. Brisbane local Rob McKee runs sharpening and other woodwork and woodturning courses from the woodturners society hut at Pine St Greenslopes and has a sharpening course coming up in May 2017. RM SCHOOL OF WOODWORKING PTY LTD. – Educating Adults to Work & Create With Wood (http://www.rmschoolofwoodworking.net.au/) (I have no financial or other connection except that I have taken some of Rob's courses and find them good). Rob uses a Vicmarc dry grinder with the fancy CBN wheels. I use a Tormek wet grinder and jigs. Both get good sharp edges, the CBN is faster (at least in Rob's use).