PDA

View Full Version : lathe face mask

JDarvall
8th September 2005, 09:13 AM
I'm new to lathe work. I've got a lathe working. And I've got a dozern or so balusters to turn.

I 'think' I'll pull it off. I've had a few practise goes. The only problem I've noticed is whip around the centre. So, I'll just sand to finish around centre and do the fancy beads etc near the ends.

Anyway,,,,my question is. Do I need a full face mask ? Or will normal safty glasses suffice ?

I know its one of those double edge type questions. If you say 'no' you don't need a face mask..... then you open yourself up to abuse :D when I rip up my face when something goes wrong. But.....I'd like to get an idea of how necessary it is. I mean.....is wearing a mask as important as ....say ....wearing a helmet to cross the street. Is it really important ?

I'd especially like to hear from experienced lathe turners. How often does something dangerous occur ?

Has anyone been saved from a nasty facial wound by a mask ?

thanks

JackoH
8th September 2005, 09:32 AM
Dust is Dangerous!, (and so are lumps of wood coming off a spoinning lathe.) I would say that dust protection/extraction is the most discussed subject on these forums(should that be fora?) Do a search, everything you wanted to know but were afraid to ask can be found.

rocabig
8th September 2005, 09:59 AM
I use both glasses and a face mask depending on what I am turning.
if it is small ie a spinning top I will just use glasses but if it is larger ie a bowl I will use the face mask.

had a bowl explode on me once it shattered the perspex safety gaurd on the lathe then hit the face mask which compressed into my dial breaking my nose and giving me two verrrrrrrrrrrrry black eyes.
I now have that same bowl as it was when it exploded (in pieces) sitting on my bookcase to remind me how lucky I was

Richard

adrian
8th September 2005, 12:27 PM