PDA

View Full Version : Advice on sharpening jigs

tony_A
20th March 2017, 09:46 PM
I am new to wood turning having recently picked up a second hand lathe and a few chisels. Am looking for advice on a sharpening jig. Already have a tormek grinder so am leaning towards their jigs for gouges and skew chisels. I like the idea of a cbn wheel for the 200mm bench grinder particularly for gouge sharpening.
I am after a bit of advice from some experienced wood turners about the tormek setup and also what works for them

Tony

NeilS
21st March 2017, 06:06 PM
I am after a bit of advice from some experienced wood turners about the tormek setup and also what works for them

Tony

Welcome, Tony.

The CBN wheels are very good.

Can't comment on the Torment jigs myself, but someone who has them will probably chime in soon.

I would say you wouldn't go too​ far wrong with either a Woodcut ( ie TruGrind) or Vicmarc jig. Mine is similar and I feel no need for anything else.

Good to see you are considering sharpening jigs from the get go. Good move!

Stay sharp!

Neil

hughie
22nd March 2017, 03:51 PM
Good advice Tony.
Although I would be a slow at buying a Tormek, they have their place. But if going to buy a CBN wheel it may well negate the need for a slow speed water grind.

tony_A
22nd March 2017, 08:38 PM
Thanks for the comments. From what i have read (if I can remember it correctly) cbn wheels on a bench grinder work well for gouges and scrapers. A bit of bur on the sharpened edge seems to be an advantage for these tools. Some people like a sharper edge on a skew chisel to give a good finish.
As I have both a tormek and a bench grinder I was thinking of getting the tormek jigs and the mount to use them on the bench grinder. Should cover all bases.

Pat
22nd March 2017, 08:58 PM