PDA

View Full Version : Table saw shopping in Canberra

RustyGirl
11th September 2005, 11:23 PM
Hi...... I'm new to this forum and I'm not very experienced at woodworking. I plan lots of projects, but I need to get stuck into it to gain skills and confidence. It is difficult to know where to start.

I am going to buy a table saw (under $1,200). Thanks for all the info people have posted previously in this forum about what kind of table saws to buy - I'll consider that advice in making my purchase. I'm still a little confused, but I'll do some more research and look around for awhile.

But if anyone can recommend any shops to try in Canberra, then please do. I guess I could always try Sydney too if necessary.....

boban
12th September 2005, 12:08 AM
Lets make it easy and save you a lot of reading.

Buy a TSC-10HB saw from Blue Dingo there in Canberra. It was once Carbatec. Now that saw is often on special for $1295.

I dont think you will find too many arguments with that suggestion.

Good luck Rusty.

DavidG
12th September 2005, 10:12 AM
Go talk to Grahme at 'Blue Dingo' Gladstone St Fyshwick.
You could not do better than follow his advice.

RustyGirl
12th September 2005, 09:13 PM
Thanks Boban and DavidG. I will do that!
:-)

MikeK
12th September 2005, 11:33 PM
Hi RustyGirl,

Welcome to the BB :)

I had a thought here and it was based purely on your comment of "I'm not very experienced at woodworking". I apologise if you've thought this thru and have it covered. The thought was based on my own experience. When I was inexperienced I bought a tablesaw. It was good and I got a lot of use from it (I still do).... but I find that I'm getting more use from my bandsaw now. The reason it that I'm making smaller furniture items (chests of drawers etc) and not really using a lot sheet goods. I learnt that I should really think about what I was making and the experience that I wanted (see plenty of debates on this BB re hand vs power tools) before I buy the tools.