PDA

View Full Version : Celtic Knots

Brianne163
29th April 2017, 05:23 PM
Hi Folks
Been having a play making a bud vase with a Celtic Knot in the large diameter.
This is my first attempt.
All went well but I am a little dissapointed with how the knot shows.
The form of the knot is fine but some of the areas of the insert show lighter than others.
I used Western Red Cedar for the knot and Huon Pine for the body.
My only conclusion is that the cedar has rather open pores and the end grain is the lighter part.
Has anyone else come across this problem?
The inserts were all inserted from the top in the same plane with the end grain at the top so I would have expected the end grain to show at the top, not the sides.
All thoughts appreciated.

Brianne163
29th April 2017, 05:26 PM
Having now looked closer at the photo, I will change the design on the next one having a better transition from the lage diameter to the neck etc.

Skew ChiDAMN!!
29th April 2017, 06:55 PM
Good job on building up the knot, the joints align quite nicely. :2tsup:

As to the colour difference, it's difficult to see in the photo but it looks like the end-grain of the WRC has 'filled' with sawdust (from sanding, perhaps?) and that can cause just such an effect. Typically the colour variance is the other way around, with the end-grain being darker.

One way to visually minimise this is to, instead of using one timber for the inserts, make up a sandwiched laminate of contrasting coloured timbers.

eg. if you're cutting a 5mm kerf, build up a laminate of 3mm 'feature' wood sandwiched between 1mm veneers of a much darker or lighter material. Unlike 'proper' ply I like to keep the grain direction aligned in the same way.

Brianne163
29th April 2017, 08:39 PM
Thanks for reply.
I have noticed two different ways of setting up the Celtic knot.
The way I did these i had X on each side. The other way has one diagonal on each side.
Any thoughts?

artme
29th April 2017, 09:37 PM