PDA

View Full Version : big routing job by novice

bitofascallywag
12th September 2005, 10:09 PM
goodday all,i have never used a router before and would like some tips as how to go about a big job i need to do.i recently bought an old pile driving barge 40 feet by 20 feet celery deck and huon bottom made with 6x2s,it leaks a wee bit and i am going to turn it into a houseboat to tow around macquarie harbour.so i intend to route through huon pine and whatever caulking they used about 40 years ago to a depth of arond 1/2 inch x 1 inch then glue?(type if you know thanks) pine strips in then a coat of paint and hey presto . so could you suggest easy ways and a type of router to buy as there is about 60 joins 20 feet long.

Wood Butcher
12th September 2005, 10:30 PM
Stuff the house boat, scavange the timber and build some really nice furniture with the timber.:D Otherwise I personally have no idea. Are you planning on routing out the bottom upside down. If so get a full face respirator, it will make life a lot more comfortable.

Rowan

bitofascallywag
12th September 2005, 11:00 PM
no imagine getting all you blokes in sitting down the bay sucking stubbies,the fun bit will be when i have to sink and flip it,i guess routing will be better than recaulking,imagine scraping 1200 feet of caulking out,suppose i could spline it

Harry72
12th September 2005, 11:34 PM
Is the caulking soft? The router will not like it...

journeyman Mick
12th September 2005, 11:59 PM
Scallywag,