PDA

View Full Version : advice on turning an old dry burl

tony_A
9th May 2017, 09:34 PM
I'm new to wood turning and am after some advice on how to turn dry and deeply cracked white gum (E. viminalis) burls. The trees they came off are long dead, have been on the ground for a long time and are not much more than shells.

Below are some blanks that I rounded off with a scraper. Can see shattered grain along the edge of the cracks and have had some chunks break out along the cracks.

Are burls like this better stabilised with resin and does this limit the options for finishing later on. I like oiled finishes but not sure how it would go on a surface like this where the oil can not be wiped off within the cracks etc.

I have used a scraper for rounding the blanks but is this the best tool to turn burls considering that in some cases the grain has got more angles to it than a playboy photo shoot.

Comments and suggestions on how to turn and finish this type of surface appreciated.

Tony

dai sensei
9th May 2017, 09:53 PM
Stabilising help harden the timber but does not fill any cracks, filling is done with casting, but the resin will only get to cracks exposed not internal ones. Personally I would still cast it, but I am a caster, there is a lot of work doing it properly.

You could fill the cracks with coffee grinds, or something else like metal powders etc, glued in place with thin CA (leave to dry properly as CA takes time to dry at depth). Then as more cracks are exposed, refill them as required, this does work pretty well. Don't use sawdust, sorry IMO it looks like crap. The only disadvantage is the smell of CA as you turn and sand.

Whether you cast of just fill the cracks, the bowl can be finished as normal, i.e. as you would normally finish a bowl (oil or what ever).

As for what tool, a bowl gouge.

hughie
10th May 2017, 05:58 AM