PDA

View Full Version : Finish to keep jarrah burl light?

rtyuiop
23rd May 2017, 08:30 PM
Hi folks,

Working on a fairly big jarrah burl bowl with some bright epoxy filling the voids.

I've noticed that when the surface is wet, it's so dark it's almost black. Any suggestions for a finish that will keep it looking as light as possible?

At the moment I'm thinking of just straight wax - any other ideas? Maybe a lightweight oil like organ oil danish?

Cheers,

Danny

Willy Nelson
23rd May 2017, 09:14 PM
Hello Danny
I believe I have a lot of experience here when it comes to finishing Jarrah burl
Firstly, DO NOT use wax, it fills all the little voids which means you need to pick it out.

My personal choice is;
Finish sanding, then blast with HP air to remove all dust
Seal with a Cellulose sealer / Sanding sealer
Apply Danish oil

Sincerely
Willy
Jarrahland

tony_A
23rd May 2017, 09:42 PM
G'day Willy
I also have a couple of burl bowls that will need finishing when they have dried. Understand why you would not use wax but what is you reason for applying sealer prior to Danish Oil.
Tony

dai sensei
23rd May 2017, 10:19 PM
You do realise Jarrah is a dark timber :? It also gets darker with age no matter what you use.

The latest finish would be probably the Nitro Lacquer that is a clear finish. All oil finishes will all darken it to some extent.

Paul39
24th May 2017, 04:02 AM
G'day Willy
I also have a couple of burl bowls that will need finishing when they have dried. Understand why you would not use wax but what is you reason for applying sealer prior to Danish Oil.
Tony

I think the sanding sealer stops the oil from soaking in and darkening the timber. Especially on the end grain. I turn a fair amount of black walnut. If it is not sealed the end grain will be almost black with the side grain a nice rich brown.

rtyuiop
24th May 2017, 07:21 AM
Thanks folks (especially Willy, having seen your jarrah burl work your input is much appreciated!).