PDA

View Full Version : Biscuit Joiner

alanan
2nd November 2017, 10:32 AM
I am contemplating purchasing a biscuit joiner. I have no experience at all with this tool. can anyone give me some advice. I salvage a lot of old cabinets, to make beehives, very often the recovered timber is not wide enough for the purpose, requiring joining, or wastage. Are these tools satisfactory. I am always a bit cautious, having purchased a workx sonycrafter, because I thought it would be suitable for a job I was doing, from the TV adverts, and found that is was almost totally useless.
Alan

Junkie
2nd November 2017, 10:59 AM
We have 3 of the Makita 100mm Plate Joiner-Biscuit Cutter (https://www.makita.com.au/products/power-tools/categories/specialty-woodworking/pj7000-100mm-plate-joiner-biscuit-cutter)s at work and I have one at home. Great value tool.

Chief Tiff
2nd November 2017, 11:20 AM
For your purposes a biscuit joiner will be very handy; but cheap ones are full of slop and unless you are very careful will cut oversized slots.

I own a Makita 710W ($270 from Bunnings) and it cuts accurately. My first joiner was an Ozito and it taught me the basics of use and where the pitfalls and accuracy lay. Between these I had a Ryobi piece of junk that was more PITA than tool so I recommend going for a Makita/DeWalt/AEG/etc branded tool.

Assuming your hives are of a consistent size I can show you a simple and very cheap mounting jig that will allow you to batch cut slots in all your planks in seconds.