PDA

View Full Version : WL-46A Lathe Clone

Brettles
10th November 2017, 05:32 PM
Hi guys.

Absolute beginner when it comes to lathes so please be gentle.

I picked up a WL-46A second hand for dirt cheap, but its missing some bits. Runs great though.
https://i.imgur.com/FgZlxLj.jpg
Most things I am fine to get but it seems like the tailstock doesnt match the lathe and is several inches too low.
MachineryHouse want $350 and 3 months to get a new one, do you guys have a better option?
Perhaps buying overseas or getting a riser for the one thats with it?
https://i.imgur.com/snjMYww.jpg<script async="" src="//s.imgur.com/min/embed.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Lyle
10th November 2017, 05:45 PM
Looks like a good pickup.
Personally I'd try a riser.
Try a local machinery workshop and see what they can do.
Shouldn't be too hard.
Also put out a want to buy in our for sale site.
Is the lathe forward/reverse? ? I think it is going on the photo.
Keep us posted.
Lyle

Brettles
10th November 2017, 05:53 PM
yep forward and reverse, got it for less than 10% of RRP

Treecycle
10th November 2017, 09:59 PM
The 3 items on the right don't look like they belong to that lathe. The lathe itself looks the same as mine which came from HAFCO and has a different banjo to yours.
If you were able to get a riser block made you would also need to extend the threaded bar that pulls the plate up to lock the tailstock to the bed.
The Jet lathe which these seem to be based on is very similar, so that might be another possible option for a tailstock.
Your riser would need to look something like the sketch below and be able to be locked to the tailstock in some way.

KBs PensNmore
10th November 2017, 10:30 PM
Brettles, where in Australia are you?? Asking, as if you're in Adelaide, I may be able to help you by either fabricating a new tailstock or a riser block.
Kryn

robyn2839
10th November 2017, 11:07 PM