PDA

View Full Version : Triton vs Saw Table advice

John G
8th August 2002, 01:42 AM
Hi All, sorry to start from basics, but I am a Triton novice here...
After growing up with my dad's Shermatic workbench, the time has come to upgrade my own gear. So I am trying to decide between the Triton or a dedicated table saw. I realise it's an unfair comparison, but having read through most of the posts here, I think I can probably summarise the Triton as follows:
- pros: cost and storage
- cons: setup and maintenance
It seems that everyone's main complaint is the ease with which the Triton will lose alignment and so need re-adjustment. I fear this will drive me crazy, but I don't want to buy a table saw if I can avoid it. So my question is:
has anyone customised or modified their workcentre to the level that they are happy with it's rigidity and stability?
Some previous posts have made suggestions such as replacing the self-tappers and plastic cams with bolts. Another was to remove the legs and build a timber base unit. There was much talk explaining the pressed tin construction of the workcentre.
I guess my issue is similar to a topic from Vonrek, but I want to see if anyone has a devised a solution to the problem.
I have a compound mitre saw, so I don't think I will ever need to use the Triton in crosscut mode (true?). Unless someone has solved the Triton-rigidity problem, I am nervous I will be disappointed.
I keenly await any advice. John.

[This message has been edited by John G (edited 08 August 2002).]

DPB
8th August 2002, 10:34 AM
John, I think your concerns are ill founded.

One of the reasons many people purchase a Triton Workcentre is due to the portability feature. They either want to move their Triton from one location to another, or don’t have a dedicated place to keep their Triton permanently set up.