PDA

View Full Version : Struggling

pkroeze
8th February 2018, 08:01 PM
Hi all,

If you just want to skip to the question it's in the last 2 lines.

The last few days I've finally got to spend a bit of time turning, it's my first attempt and to be honest I'm struggling.
Back a about fortnight I decided to do a bowl so I mounted a pine sacrificial block on my face plate and hot glued a small Tasmanian Blackwood blank to it. This is where the mistakes start

Mistake 1./ I started to do the inside of the bowl first, don't worry I didn't get very far, every time I started cutting I would get a catch

Mistake 2./ After quite a few catches, the bowl came flying off the face plate, thankfully not at me. At this point I put it away for a couple weeks. Lesson learned don't just attach 4 screws to the blank, attach all 8.

Returned to the project on Tuesday and decided that I would do the normal thing and do the bottom of the bowl instead as I hadn't taken all that much material off. The bowl gouge again gave me a couple of catches so I decided to switch to a scraper. Finally something I can control and make progress with :D.

I have watched a bunch of videos as well as read a book and a magazine on turning so I understand the techniques but I'm just not applying them well, but I'll practice.

Anyway the back of the bowl is done, it's only small maybe 100mm diameter 50mm deep. My question is how do I attach this bowl to my face plate? Hot gluing the bottom of the bowl to the sacrificial block doesn't seem safe unless I maybe turned a concave bit into it. All I have is a 100mm face-plate and a live centre.

Nubsnstubs
9th February 2018, 02:04 AM
Maybe you should have made the bottom flat, turn the desired shape, then mount the bottom onto the face plate, hog out the inside, then make a jam chuck and turn off any unsightly stuff if you have the thickness.