PDA

View Full Version : Nova Comet II?

Archades
15th April 2018, 05:30 AM
Thinking about getting the Nova Comet Midi Lathe + G3 Rev. Chuck Pack from Carbatec, the free shipping is a major plus.
I am a newbie with turning though, but keen to make lures, pens, maybe bowls, n other random stuff.

Starter set of chisels, recommendations? Preferably at Carbatec since it's convenient but whereever.
Are carbide insert tools good?

Will this lathe be enough or will it be underpowered? What is going to be the limitations? I kinda want the Nova 1624 but that's $1750 + like $500+ shipping so it's a huge turnoff. I have a feeling if I ever needed to upgrade and was really into it I'd save for the DVR ones which makes the $500 a bit more palatable but hoping I won't need anything like that.

What accessories do you suggest.

My understanding is the chuck and jaws are separate, and you can get different jaws for bigger pieces? Do I need any other chuck than the G3? I'd like to turn say 200mm diameter pieces between centers.
Spur drive for bigger spindles turned between centers or do you use the 4 jaw chuck?

Is the Teknatool Centre System worth it?
Recommended mandrels for pens?
Woodscrew chuck?

Recommended books? I have Woodturning - A Foundation Course by Keith Rowley, which I should probably read now lol but I want to have a good startup kit without having to order over n over things I've missed so I am here asking annoying questions.

Thanks.

Archades
15th April 2018, 05:40 AM
Also considering not getting the g3 chuck n going for the record power 100mm SC4 Scroll Chuck Kit or Supernova 2. Leaning towards the Supernova 2 and non kit comet, unless the kit has more than just the g3 chuck?

Optimark
15th April 2018, 11:23 PM
Lathes are quite different from manufacturer to manufacturer, yet at the same time they are pretty much identical.

The Nova Comet II is a nice lathe, my brother has one and for what it is it is a good machine.