PDA

View Full Version : Moisture

brainstrust
20th April 2018, 08:59 PM
Another newbie question.......what's a reasonable moisture % in wood to turn without worrying about cracking and warping? 6 to 8% ?????

dai sensei
20th April 2018, 09:16 PM
Another newbie question.......what's a reasonable moisture % in wood to turn without worrying about cracking and warping? 6 to 8% ?????

In Canberra, yes probably, but it won't stop warping/cracking from inbuilt stresses being released as you turn that some woods/pieces are prone to.

cava
20th April 2018, 10:21 PM
I am just learning to turn at the local woodworking club, and yesterday tried to turn some Cypress Pine that I have had for circa 6 years in the shed.

It was a piece 250mm x 80mm x 80mm unsealed with no cracks, and for all intents and purposes dry on the surface. However, when I tried to turn it, it was as wet as if I had just cut it down. Surprised me enormously. Not sure of the EMC, but would have to be >20%.

Pat
20th April 2018, 10:31 PM
Cypress is known for doing this. I've turned "Dry" Cypress post and needed a raincoat.

If you are learning, 90*45 pine from bunnies, ripped to 45².

cava
20th April 2018, 11:15 PM
If you are learning, 90*45 pine from bunnies, ripped to 45².
Thanks Pat, I have heaps of Radiata, but thought that I would try something a bit more challenging - the knots are interesting.:rolleyes:

Christos
21st April 2018, 07:13 AM
When it comes to wood turning and the piece you are trying to turn is wet there are options that you can take. Turn and leave about 25mm thickness so you can turn it later when it does dry out, normally about 6 months. Another option is to turn to final shape with the wall thickness as thin as possible(3 - 4mm) and allow it to warp and maybe crack to give it a unique shape.