PDA

View Full Version : Wanted (Vic) Rosewood, ebony exotics for luthier

mjcoope
4th June 2018, 11:13 AM
Hey Guys,

I'm a small shop luthier based in Melbourne, I have been working in Europe for a few years and brought the shop back nearly 1 year ago. I've left most of my exotic timbers there.

If any of you have pieces of rosewood, ebony, african blackwood, bocote or any others for sale I would be very interested.

I would also like to say where and when possible I use Australian timbers and find them delightful to use but sometimes clients ask for something a bit more traditional.

Sizes could vary but mainly interested in pieces over 500mm long, but might find room for that special piece no matter how big or small :U

Look forward to hearing from you.

Cheers,

Matt
MJC guitars

If you're wondering what these pieces will be made into, here's a photo of whats currently in the shop about to go out.
(Vic. Blackwood, Brazilian rosewood bindings with german bear claw spruce top, ebony fretboard 'green tape')

bench1holio
4th June 2018, 12:57 PM
Love those green tape fretboards, the tap tone is amazing!

cava
4th June 2018, 09:39 PM
Try asking Euge on this forum. He has many Australian exotics.

dai sensei
4th June 2018, 10:13 PM
Rosewood - what type there are many?

500mm long - how wide and how thick?

mjcoope
4th June 2018, 11:32 PM
Rosewood - what type there are many?

500mm long - how wide and how thick?

Rosewoods - I’m mainly interested in any of the true dalbergia rosewoods. But open ears to what you have!

Size would depend:
I can resaw the timber so thicker is better but here are rough dimensions I would use after resaw.

Fretboards - (L)500mm x(W)60mm (min thickness 7mm)

Backs - (L)500mm x(w)200mm
And matching sides - (L)750-800mm x (W)110-120mm
Both thick enough to book match 3-4mm slices

I also use 750mm long sticks for binding the instrument and smaller pieces for things sucks as bridges.

Thanks,

Matt

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

dai sensei