PDA

View Full Version : Turning Blanks, Roughing Gouge vs. Skew Chisel

Klingwrap
25th November 2018, 02:10 PM
Hi, I am new to wood turning and don't have much experience. I have been mostly learning from YouTube videos. It seems that the majority of people out there use a roughing gouge to turn square wood down to cylinders and I have had great results using this method. Last night I found a video of someone using a skew chisel to do the same thing, and was wondering if there are any pros and cons for using either tool.

Thanks

Pat
25th November 2018, 02:40 PM
It depends on the size of the turning blank. I'll rough down with a skew up to 30mm square. I am competent, confident and comfortable with doing this. Over that, I find it quicker to round with a SRG.

It would be better if you got some one on one instruction from a competent instructor. There are a lot of clubs in the country with competent mentors and it takes alot of the trial by error out the equation. There are also a few qualified turners that can teach.

If you want to supply a location a little more specific, then we might be able to point you in the right direction.

Klingwrap
25th November 2018, 02:52 PM
Thanks,
I'm taking a beginners course at the Derwent Valley School of Creative Woodwork in Tasmania this coming January, but I'm a bit impatient when it comes to learning new things and just couldn't wait that long to find out.

Old Croc
25th November 2018, 09:39 PM
My only comment is that I sharpen and hone my skew to razor sharp so I don't want to waste it when a SRG or a bowl gouge will do the job.
Rgds
Crocy.

Skew ChiDAMN!!
25th November 2018, 11:02 PM
Both work fine - once you master the techniques - but while a roughing gouge is made specifically for roughing down, a skew is not.

A properly sharpened skew doesn't have much "meat" in the cutting edge which means it is prone to blunting a bit more quickly as well as being susceptible to chipping, etc. that a RG would take in it's stride.