PDA

View Full Version : Slow speed grinder vs wet stone grinder for a novice

DaveVman
3rd December 2018, 03:35 PM
Please note that I am a complete novice that accidentally on purpose ended up with a lathe.
I had hoped I could fit a Al Oxide white wheel to my baby grinder to sharpen the chisels at minimum cost. At least until I turned a few things and see if I like it. Unfortunately I have found that I can't fit a 25mm wheel to my baby grinder.
So I'm going to have to acquire something for sharpening.
This expense is unbudgeted so Tormek and other high end solutions are out of the question for me.

The more I read about this subject the more confused I become.
Partly because I don't know how much weight to place on the importance of the options.
1. I guess since I am now looking for a machine specifically for sharpening, then I should only consider a slow speed grinder or wet stone sharpener. Is that correct?
Or can I buy any old $100 grinder and stick an Alu Oxide white wheel on it and be happy?

2. I'm not having much luck finding information on the pros and cons of slow speed grinder vs wet stone grinder.
If I aim for the lowest end wet stone grinder then the base cost of a wet stone grinder is similar to a slow speed grinder. However it seems that you then need all sorts of attachments to the wet stone grinder which probably doubles the final cost.
So if I have that correct, then am I safe to assume some people go for a slow speed grinder because a wet stone grinder ends up being more expensive?

I also assume that you don't have dust issues with a wetstone grinder and that a wet stone grinder is superior if you can afford it.

Have I managed to summarise the pros and cons?

BobL
3rd December 2018, 04:18 PM
1. I guess since I am now looking for a machine specifically for sharpening, then I should only consider a slow speed grinder or wet stone sharpener. Is that correct?
For wood turning using HSS chisels a slow speed grinder is not necessary.