PDA

View Full Version : Roughing gouge problem

Tiger
15th October 2005, 08:22 AM
Dear all,

I am using the set of chisels that comes with the Hare & Forbes 900 b/w centres lathe. I am having a real problem with the roughing gouge. All other tools will sharpen nicely and respond to some sort of honing but not the roughing gouge provided. I can not ever get it super sharp from the grinder and any attempt at honing seems to dull the tool fast. I have been turning a lot of redgum and the roughing gouge is not cutting all that well. I have tried different angles from 35 to 50 but no real improvement. If we assume that I haven't destroyed the temper of the blade (which wouldn't be easy because it's a fair bit of steel), why am I having this problem? The tool is high speed steel. Any advice appreciated.

JDarvall
15th October 2005, 09:29 AM
I'm new to lathe work, Tiger. But I have been grinding chisels for some time. I'm not having any problems grinding this gouge. The ones that I find tricky are those fingernail spindle gouges.

Is your grinder dressed properly ? ....can burn high speed steel, but that grinding wheel would have to badly underdressed for that to happen, I reakon. Should be able to get it sharp enough straight from grinder. Keep your finger up close to the edge while you grind to monitor heat. But first, I'd dress that grinder. definetly

goodluck

Utuk_Xul
15th October 2005, 12:42 PM
Roughing gouges work best with a burr on the edge. Make sure your stone is well dressed and do not hone the roughing gouge. Leave the burr on.

Tiger
15th October 2005, 02:35 PM
At first I thought it was the grey wheel. So I dressed that. It made little difference. I then put a 40 grit white wheel on the grinder. It too made little difference. Dressed it and still no difference.

Only thing I can think of is that the redgum is so severe that it is playing havoc with the gouge. Maybe I'll have to take special steps with Redgum in future.

Captain Chaos