PDA

View Full Version : Ryobi router comments please

normc
17th October 2005, 12:39 PM
Hi all,

I'm new to the forum and would greatly appreciate some helpful comments on either of 2 Ryobi routers I'm able to get cheap. the models are the ERT1400V and the ERT1500VK from their currrent pro series. I'm only a hobbyist but looking to do good quality work and the pro series seems a safer choice. Problem is, its not generally on the shelves at B or M10 so I'm not able to examine it personally. Many thanks for replies.

petermac
21st October 2005, 11:09 PM
Hi Normc.

I recently bought an ERT2100VK which looks more like a larger version of the ERT1400V than the ERT1500VK. I haven't actually used it yet but the build quality looks ok and the height adjustment and measurement facilities seem to be pretty good. It has soft start which is necessary for a 2100W router.

I plan to put the router in a triton table. The one problem I have found is that when you put the router upside down, the weight of the router acting with the springs makes it hard to adjust. If your not going to put it in a table then its not a problem.

If I get time on the week end I will give it a test run and report back.

I did notice that the dust extraction port looks a little small. Its smaller than the port on most power tools and it looks like it would block up easily.

doug the slug
21st October 2005, 11:31 PM
The one problem I have found is that when you put the router upside down, the weight of the router acting with the springs makes it hard to adjust. If your not going to put it in a table then its not a problem .