PDA

View Full Version : Can indoor indoor furniture be a health hazard?

Hexamon
16th May 2019, 10:52 AM
Please, feel free to point me to a different are if I am posting this in a wrong place. I just wasn't sure where would a question like this should be posted.

I am a newbie. I did a few home furniture projects in the past few weeks. Simple things, like building a bed frame, computer desk and such. I used mostly cheap pinewood from Home Depot. I figured I would make a lot of mistakes (which I did) initially. During this time I developed coughing, dry throat and skin irritation. Initially I thought it was caused by some sort of a viral infection but after reading up about wood dust, I am starting to think it was a reaction to something in the materials or wood dust in general. I stopped working on these projects and the symptoms subsided but they didn't go away completely. Is it possible that the furniture pieces I built (e.g. computer desk) are still causing these irritations? Should I get rid of them too? To be clear, I built these in a shed and them brought them in the house.

orraloon
16th May 2019, 12:00 PM
Welcome to the forum,
Breathing in wood dust is not good health wise. Manufactured board like MDF and treated timber even more so.
Most people who take up woodworking for the long haul invest in dust extraction. If you do not have decent extraction in the shed then at least wear a mask until you can afford some.
Wood items in the house are safe it is the dust created in making the furniture that does the harm. Plenty of information on the subject on line and on this forum. Check out the dust extraction section.
Regards
John

Hexamon
16th May 2019, 12:14 PM
Thank you! I am primarily worried about the wood items currently in the house. I will take up your advice and will not continue working until a proper dust extraction system is in place.

woodPixel
16th May 2019, 02:57 PM
Pine may be treated if its intended for outdoors.