PDA

View Full Version : Steady rest

tony_A
25th June 2019, 10:40 PM
My lathe came with a steady that belonged to a smaller lathe and used a block of wood to raise it to the correct height.
It wasn't super stable but I was able to get by. Have wanted a more substantial steady rest for some time and it took a large vase to spur me into action. The new steady is capable of holding something up to 380mm in diameter and was built largely with scrap metal, and a set of inline skate wheels.
Built the main frame out of 50 mm square hollow section (SHS)
Fabricated a base using 6mm by 50mm flat bar, one on each side of the SHS base. The steady will be held on the bed by 2 bolts. A length of heavy flat plate would have been simpler for the base.
Used 30mm SHS for the arms and they slide in a SHS sleeve. I am not good at WIP photos but the finished article below will be fairly self explanatory.

After giving it a test run I can say that it works well. This vase was turned green and is 250 by 350mm.

And while I had the welder out I made a better base for the old steady using a piece of 50 by 75 RHS.
The smaller one is easier to take on and off the lathe and will still get a run for small projects like pepper grinders.

Tony

Nubsnstubs
26th June 2019, 12:41 AM
Tony, you did a good clean job on your rest. Just that you should make you proud of a job well done. I'm going to describe the one I made below. Do not take it as criticism.