PDA

View Full Version : Large Diameter Router Bit

bob.jager
30th August 2002, 03:40 PM
I wish to use an 89mm dia router bit on my Triton table with my Triton Router to manufacture ficture frame slips.

Unfortunately the clear dust collector cover has an internal diameter of less than 89mm - this will mean I will have to remove it and design something to accomodate the larger bit. Before I re-invent the wheel, has anyone attempted this before? or has anyone any ideas?

Bob

DarrylF
30th August 2002, 09:41 PM
I gotta believe that this has got to be an accident waiting to happen. I'd have serious doubts about trying to use a bit that large in the best of router tables.

I'm no expert - but I'd definitely think it would be worth talking to the manufactuers/importers of the bit you want to use.

I've had one accident with a router table - kickback when widening a slot and my finger clipped the bit. Fully healed now, but a very sobering experience.

RETIRED
31st August 2002, 01:45 AM
Gooday.

Have to agree with Daryl. A bit that big is meant to be used in a spindle moulder.

The edge speed would be phenomenal.

Most router manufacturers reccommend only bits up to 25mm. We have an overhead router and even they say you should not exceed 50mm.

------------------
Ian () Robertson
"We do good turns every day"

P.S. and that has a 75 mm shaft.

[This message has been edited by (edited 31 August 2002).]

bob.jager
31st August 2002, 04:55 PM
Re the router bit:

I would prefer to use a vertical Raised Panel Bit, but I have yet to find the right cove profile that meets my specific needs.

The bit I am interested in is the CMT Raised Panel Bit, Profile D (1/2" shank) 890.507.11. The recommended speed for this bit is 10,000 RPM which my Triton Router can handle without any problems. This speed corresponds to a tip speed of approximately 55 feet per second, or about 38 miles per hour, which I understand shouldn't be a problem when the router is mounted in a stable router table.