PDA

View Full Version : Challenge 2020 - 2021 Picko

Pages : [1] 2

Picko
27th September 2020, 08:35 PM
Right, I tried to do this earlier but failed miserably, I can only hope that I’m a better plane builder.
For a long time now I have thought I would like to have a go at plane building and even had materials put aside for a bevel up smoother. I abandoned the idea when I realized that I already had five smoothers and too many other projects. I had fantasized about a dovetail construction but I have decided to start at a more realistic level.
I’m now 450km from my shed, and will be for another two weeks, so there will be time for planning this project which is something that I don’t normally spend enough time on.
The plan is a bevel up shoulder plane with a 15deg bed and a sort of infill style. Early planning looks like this.

Simplicity
27th September 2020, 09:34 PM
Right, I tried to do this earlier but failed miserably, I can only hope that I’m a better plane builder.
For a long time now I have thought I would like to have a go at plane building and even had materials put aside for a bevel up smoother. I abandoned the idea when I realized that I already had five smoothers and too many other projects. I had fantasized about a dovetail construction but I have decided to start at a more realistic level.
I’m now 450km from my shed, and will be for another two weeks, so there will be time for planning this project which is something that I don’t normally spend enough time on.
The plan is a bevel up shoulder plane with a 15deg bed and a sort of infill style. Early planning looks like this.

Picko,
That looks like a great plane build,
Not sure how many Bevel up planes are being done?
Make sure to keep us posted,even if it’s just random idea changes extra.

Cheers Matt.

Bushmiller
27th September 2020, 11:36 PM
Another contender producing enineering quality drawings. Where's my hari kari knife? Hell! I don't think I got it to the hardening/tempering stages :doh:

:D