PDA

View Full Version : Looking for Lathe

AussieGreg
20th November 2005, 04:18 PM
I was thinking about getting the MC 900 lathe is this the ideal choice or should I go for the MC1100.

Where is the best place in Brisbane to buy the lathe or is there a second had one about.

Yea I'm a newbie, but loved turning things on the lathe at highschool, and have never lost the bug, now that I'm an old fart I want to get one.:D

hooppine
20th November 2005, 04:32 PM
In Brisbane you have Hare and Forbes at Archerfield, Carba-Tec at Cooparooo, Gregory Machinery at Darra and Gary Pye at the Gold Coast. All have web sites that give some info so you can look before you buy. Best of turning.

Larry.

PS the Woodturners Society of Quuensland at Stones Corner is a good place to start for advice and they also have a website so get your fingers going this afternoon to find info and keep out of the hail storms

Wood Butcher
20th November 2005, 05:15 PM
Hi Greg,

If you had a choice betwen the two I would spend the extra money and go with the mc1100. A bit bigger motor and also has the headstock able to slide along the bed. I don't think that they cost a great deal extra either. Those two lathes are an ideal lathe to start on and I will be getting one myself in the near future (if SWMBO allows).

AussieGreg
20th November 2005, 08:29 PM
Thanks for the links hooppine, the Turning Society site is very good, the vase is very inspiring to get started.

Woodbutcher LOL love the name yes I tend to agree with what you say, I din't know about the headstock being able to move, but that has made my mind up for me would be handy.

Thanks guys keep the comments coming

Ivan in Oz
20th November 2005, 09:17 PM
G'Day Ppl,
Isn't there a group in Kessels Road down from Mains Rd.
towards Garden City:confused:
If you are heading in from the Bush:rolleyes:

AussieGreg
21st November 2005, 06:17 AM
I was actually hoping to locate a turning group out this way.

Dean
21st November 2005, 07:19 PM
G'Day Ppl,