PDA

View Full Version : Dinning Table

Muddy
27th November 2005, 09:41 AM
Hi all this is my first thread so be gental.
I'm an apprentice sawdust maker and need help.
I have been asked to make a ten seat dinning table:eek: HELP!
any and all help would be greatly welcomed.

Tex B
27th November 2005, 09:52 AM
Google wood dining table plans (no double n in dining) and you'll get links to a lot of plans for sale reasonably cheap and some free. But more important, you'll get a look at a dozen or more dining tables designed for amateur woodworkers like you and me. You can get a feel for what you want it to look like, and how much you're prepared to spend on timber, and what tools and skills are required.

Tex

dazzler
27th November 2005, 10:05 AM
Hi Muddy

We would need more info on what tools you have.

If you only have very basic tools then I would suggest the following.

Go to your nearest furniture place and measure up a table that is similar to what you want. I reckon 2400 x 1200 might be okay.

I would use tassie oak, strong, available from local hardware places and finishes well with an oil finish.

I would use 70mm square legs, 110 x 38mm rails, and use a sheet of veneered MDF for the top. this should be 2440 x 1220mm and should cost about $150. Edge the top with 19mm x 3mm tassie oak edging glued on.

Join the legs to the rails using the beadlock tenoning jig.
Join the mdf top with biscuit joints which will really strengthen it up.
brace 300mm in from each corner diagonally with some of the 110 x 38 rail leftovers.

to add some style to the legs you could relieve the edges with a small handplane (mujifang) or even take them to a carpentry place and get them to put a taper on the inside edges.

So the cutting list would be;

4 off 70 x 70 x 900 legs

2 off 110 x 38 x 2400 side rails

2 off 110 x 38 x 1200 end rails

1 off 2440 x 1220 mdf veneered sheet for top

3 off 19 x 3 x 2700 edging

1 x gmc biscuit jointer
1 x gmc drop saw
1 x beadlock tenon system