PDA

View Full Version : CNC Router (Work in Progress)

rodm
5th December 2005, 02:27 AM
I am on the way to making my CNC router and thought some might be interested in following the progress. I am running this as a parallel post with CNCzone so if it is a bit obscure then I apologise and you are welcome to ask for more detail. I am finding this project fascinating as it combines woodwork, metalwork and computing.

Don't ask for drawings as they are in my head and change to suit the materials I have available and the problems I encounter as I construct it. I know this is a cop out but I would rather be making chips than drawing pictures.

The biggest hurdle was the electronics as I have very little experience other than how to solder. As this was going to be the critical component for me I decided to get the driver board, and if I could mount it and get it going, the way would be clear to make the router.

The box I got was not big enough to house the transformer and board so I got another one and put the transformer in one and driver board in the other.

After I ran the tests and was confident I had everything working I got the 269 oz motors.

Motors and driver board are from Xylotex in the US.

A simple way of looking at this is the driver board is the interface between the computer and motors. If you think of a printer and the way it operates with a parallel cable connected to your computer then there really isn't much difference between the two. In fact you can send HPGL code to a CNC router.

Here are some photos of the finished driver board and power supply.

rodm
5th December 2005, 02:35 AM
So the electronics, motors and cables have been completed.

I decided to make the base from steel and the gantry from aluminium. My choice for a steel base is that it adds weight and stability and because it is fixed it does not require additional motor power.