PDA

View Full Version : Bandsaw recommendations

Hangfire
20th February 2022, 03:06 PM
Hi all,

i am getting fed up of the resale prices of second hand units - they seem to be 80% of the initial price....

i missed out on a cracking old unit as i just couldnt get it home safely :(

so i am starting to think about buying new. (its my birthday at the end of next month)

(same thing happened to me with my planned table saw upgrade - i ended up with a carbatec cabinet saw)

if i was looking for a saw which would not need upgrading later - (i am a hobbyist rather than a pro) - what should i be looking for?

i have started to get into turning and can see me needing to resaw a bit to make blanks etc.
i really want to give bandsaw boxes a go - they look fun.

is 14 inches enough machine? dont want to go crazy with cost if i can help it - likewise, if 14 isnt enough i dont want to have to replace it....

my current saw is from aldi and has a tiny height - and is just rubbish - but it did what i needed it to do at the time.

i have been looking at the carbatec/timbecon/hafco units - all seem pretty similarly priced, of the bunch i prob prefer the look of the sherwood....

i can see that the laguna is a better machine than the carbys - and the other clones, but i cant see myself paying the premium

please enlighten this beffudled newbie in the magical arts of the bandsaw.

Hodgo
20th February 2022, 07:24 PM
I bought the Sherwood 14" standard from Timbecon
I'm learning what it/I can do as I go along

It cuts nice straight cuts when resawing especially after I put a new blade on from Henry bros
and a kreg fence and micro adjust (standard fence is a bit ordinary)

every time I use it I become more confident and think of new things I can do with it
I have no regrets in buying it

Like you I had to decide between the 3 from timbecon,carbatec and H&F which I beleive are all similar

you are lucky, you can look at all three in the flesh in melbourne before you buy