PDA

View Full Version : Problems with plywood

brandon26
17th December 2005, 10:32 PM
I am about to start making a chair for a school project from plywood. I have limited knowledge about plywood, but there are a few things I hope you guys can help me with:

1) I want a smooth surface, how can I achieve that?

2) Shall I smooth the surface before or after actually making the final product?

3) What finishes do you recommend I use for the plywood?

I need help urgently.

Thanks

Shedhand
17th December 2005, 10:46 PM
I am about to start making a chair for a school project from plywood. I have limited knowledge about plywood, but there are a few things I hope you guys can help me with:

1) I want a smooth surface, how can I achieve that?

2) Shall I smooth the surface before or after actually making the final product?

3) What finishes do you recommend I use for the plywood?

I need help urgently.

Thanks G'day
If you have a choice of plywood I'd go for what we here in Australia refer to as Marine Ply. Its probably the best quality in terms of finish and unfinished durability. Without knowing what design the chair is i'd cut the components, finish then put it together. Others here would be better qualified on what type of finish to use.
Cheers and good luck with the project.

bsrlee
18th December 2005, 12:03 AM
If you are going to finish (paint or stain) the surface, remember to mask off the areas where glue is going to go - use the special masking tape that can be left of for several days - here its blue & made by 3M. Paint & stain can reduce or stop glue from adhereing properly.