PDA

View Full Version : Exterior ply

Mallet
18th December 2005, 09:41 PM
Hi guys, I'm new to the boat building thing and was wondering if anyone knows a good place to buy exterior grade ply in the A.C.T/Queanbyan area. Also I'm going to need some epoxy/fibreglass etc, is there maybe a one stop shop that won't break the bank? :confused:
It's a rowing dory using 3 sheets of 4-6mm ply.

Any leads would be much appreciated,
Cheers.

Auld Bassoon
18th December 2005, 09:48 PM
Hi Mallet,

You really need marine grade ply - just exterior grade won't last very long in fresh (esp.) or salt water.

Reckon on around $100 ~ $120 on a sheet of 8' x 4'. I don't know about the ACT, but for some escellent service and first rate quality, try www.brims.com.au (http://www.brims.com.au)

Cheers!

Mallet
18th December 2005, 10:09 PM
Thanks. I didn't think exterior grade would be a problem as I am going to sheath the entire thing in epoxy with fibrglass on the outside. Is this true?
Because if I start forking out for marine grade ply I may as well just skip the little boat and start building a "BIG" one!:rolleyes:

This is how it starts isn't it?

Auld Bassoon
18th December 2005, 10:27 PM
Hi Mallet,

If you plan to sheath the whole hull, interior and exterior, in epoxy and fibreglass, then I guess cardboard would be ok :D so exterior would be ok.

Yup, it does get that way...:D :D :D

Mallet
18th December 2005, 10:49 PM
Cheers, I have a fabric covered canoe, so I know about nervousness but I think i'd draw the line at cardboard.

ps; I've heard that the best bilge pump is a frightened man with a bucket!:eek:

Daddles
19th December 2005, 01:02 AM