PDA

View Full Version : What influences you?

hughie
20th November 2022, 08:41 AM
Heres a thought , we produce much of what do by our experiences, what works what doesnt and to some extent others as well.
I have a some what checkered past with considerable travel involved to many different parts of the world over several years. Plus a few notable men and women in the craft and across couple of crafts and cultures. This effects what I do and think to this day.

So what motivates, influences you ?

BMKal
20th November 2022, 12:22 PM
Probably Youtube in my case. Certainly not my work / education background. I have recently retired from the mining industry, in which I worked as a metallurgist / processing engineer. I have never been an "office" person and liked to get out in the field and get my hands dirty. As such, I learned to be able to overhaul pumps / engines etc and to weld, which I enjoy doing.
My imagination for woodwork and metalwork projects at home comes from watching others on Youtube - the one single person who inspired me to buy a lathe and get into wood turning was Brendan Stemp - I watched as much of his video content that I could find, and ended up buying a couple of things from him. Would love to have met the man personally, but we're on opposite sides of the country. Other ideas I have had came from watching various other people on Youtube, including pen turners and people who work with epoxy resin, and from Facebook pages and forum posts such as on this one. I learned fairly quickly about the variety of great timbers that we have in Australia, and particularly in the part of the country that I live in, and I try to find good examples of as many of these timbers that I can and make something to highlight their features.