PDA

View Full Version : MAKING YOUR OWN SCRAPERS

John Thuijs
15th June 1999, 10:05 PM
I have just bought my first lathe (a Technatool T1000) second hand. This has left me short of cash to buy any chisels in the immediate future. I have made a scraper and a parting tool out of a couple of files which are working quite nicely. They have enabled me to turn the handles for the chisels and also a small bowl. Could anyone tell me if there is an optimum angle that the scraper and the parting tool should be ground at? Also when some funds become available what should be the first chisels that I should buy as a very basic set. I have done a bit of woodturning before on my fathers lathe so I am not a complete beginner.

------------------
John Thuijs

RETIRED
15th June 1999, 10:53 PM
Gooday John, welcome to the BB. First off I would not advise using files for any thing other than what they were intended. The steel is extemely brittle and any dig in will generally result in the tool snapping sometimes with fatal results. The tools required are dictated by whether you intend to do mainly spindle or faceplate (bowl) work. There is great discussion about what people see as the "basic beginners set". My choice are these: Spindle; 3/4" spindle gouge (can be used for roughing down as well) 1/8" parting tool and a 1" skew. For bowl work; 3/8" deep fluted bowl gouge and a 1" round nosed scraper. All high speed steel. You can do about 90% of your work with these. Happy turning.

------------------
Ian () Robertson
"We do good turns every day"

Marshall Gorrow
19th June 1999, 02:12 PM