PDA

View Full Version : Shaving Dilemma: Where do yours go?

ticklingmedusa
28th January 2006, 02:28 PM
Okay, I've been turning pretty hardcore for the last 9 months or so
and I find it extremely rewarding. I do small bowls and semi closed vessels.
More often than not I spin a blank into something I'm proud
enough of to give to someone as a gift. I was invited to turn a big piece of purpleheart for a silent auction a local charity group is holding.
I'm gaining better control of my tools. My finishes are getting
more uniform and glossier. I spent $$$ on a tool sharpening jig and
books to guide me along the way to a keener edge.
One of these days I'll get my hands on a digital camera and post a
photo or two here. After I gave her a Claro Walnut salad bowl and a closed vessel of Cocobolo, my wife even forgave the smoldering wood smell in the microwave &
kitchen and the little pile of dust and woodchips I sometimes deposit between the sheets.
She even let me sleep in the bed again.
I figure I'm right where I should be given the amount of time, money and
effort I've invested.
Whats bugging me tonight is shavings...
At first I just hit em with the shop vac. Wasn't long before the cannister filled.
Then that went to the landfill. I started thinking there must a better way.
I mulched all the low spots in the yard only to find out after doing it
that some woods contain biochemical compounds that can kill or inhibit
other plants from growing. Then my wife said she wanted to try using some "clean"
shavings to stuff a doll she was making. I voiced my concern
and she decided against it. These days I fill a 15 gallon laundry tub and
dump them into a 30x30x18 inch deep iron box laid on the ground.
I kindle a fire on top of the pile with junk mail and small tree branch
trimmings. It smells great and theres enough bare ground around it
so its firesafe. I always stay nearby while its burning.
Probably not the best solution to the problem.
Thats why I'm putting it to you guys.