PDA

View Full Version : Great source for box making wood

mkemila
2nd February 2006, 05:10 PM
Hey All,

Just thought I would pass along a tale of my good fortune. I am fairly new to box making but quickly realized that stock was fairly expensive to be cut into small pieces. I now regularly go to two different hardwood flooring companies and buy their offcuts - maple, oak, cherry, and birch mainly. For $10-$20 I can buy enough 1" stock to build 4 to 5 large jewelry boxes. Might be worth a check at your local flooring companies

Cheers

Mark

Zoot
2nd February 2006, 05:23 PM
Hey All,

Just thought I would pass along a tale of my good fortune. I am fairly new to box making but quickly realized that stock was fairly expensive to be cut into small pieces. I now regularly go to two different hardwood flooring companies and buy their offcuts - maple, oak, cherry, and birch mainly. For $10-$20 I can buy enough 1" stock to build 4 to 5 large jewelry boxes. Might be worth a check at your local flooring companies

Cheers

Mark

I will give that a try ... yesterday I purchased 4 pieces at a specialty timber yard mainly 1"x 4" about 3ft long and it cost me $A72.00 ... they were mainly Australian timbers, Silky Oak, Blackwood and Rock Maple ... don't know what that is in Canadian money ?$C50 or so?

Cheers,
Zoot

redwood
2nd February 2006, 05:49 PM
yesterday I purchased 4 pieces at a specialty timber yard mainly 1"x 4" about 3ft long and it cost me $A72.00 ... they were mainly Australian timbers, Silky Oak, Blackwood and Rock Maple
Cheers,
Zoot

:eek: Geez Zoot i hope you are being slightly loose with your calculations, otherwise they seen you comming:eek: