PDA

View Full Version : Is noise restricting you?

underused
4th February 2006, 01:54 PM
Hello,

Im in Japan, but I think this problem happens everywhere.
Cramped housing, small working spaces and trying to keep noise to a minimum. Always wondering when the complaints are going to stream in about noise.
Does anyones else suffer from this:confused: What ways do You guy's use to keep noise low and neighbours sweet;)
Schtoo, You're in Japan, how do You cope?
I'm a carpenter in My homeland, and have never had to worry about this, being on-site most of the time. But here Im not on-site. Im just working from home sometimes (it's not a full time job for me here)
That aside, I'm going to have a crack at starting a business here, producing simple furniture, and will be looking for premises.
Cheers. Gary.

outback
4th February 2006, 02:32 PM
Is noise restricting you?

PARDON :p You'll have to speak up sonny. :D

Just George
4th February 2006, 04:29 PM
Find out from the local authorities what the regulations are for your area, it sounds like you will need to find this out for both residential and industrial areas. TritonJapan may be able to help you with this.

la Huerta
4th February 2006, 07:38 PM
where i live mate it's a real problem, people live right opossite my workshop window, had to soundproof it as best i could and close the windoow when the machinees are on, i could get twice the work done if noise was'nt an issue, been using a lot of hand tools , there wisper quietness allows be to work any hours, but they use a lot of energy and i drove myself down to the point of exhaustion, what a predicoment !...but at the end of the day i'v got to make the $$$ or i'll be stuck in this crap hole forever (renting), i'll do my best to keep noise nown as much as i can without compromiing my own goals...

la H

Just George
4th February 2006, 08:04 PM