PDA

View Full Version : Precedent Set by my Son-in-Law

Barry_White
17th February 2006, 06:02 PM
Up to now I have resisted making a jewelry box but a challenge has been set by my son-in-law. We are visiting at the moment and my daughter says to him show dad the jewelry box you made me.

Now even as a darksider he really doesn't cut it as his tool kit consists of a hand saw, a square, a hammer and an electric drill.

So he goes and drags out this jewelry box which he made with a hand saw and a sanding pad in an electric drill.

To add insult to injury it is made from radiata. Certainly no fancy joints but really is worth posting here. Stained with Feast Watson proof tint and one coat of Wattyl high gloss varnish applied with a brush. Now I'm no expert on finishing but consider it came up a treat.

The box was just glued together with PVA glue and had to join one side piece at a time so he could put weights on it on account that he had no clamps.

Because he couldn't make the box as a complete unit and then saw the lid from the base he made it in two separate pieces and the alignment match is perfect.

To round over the corners of the box he ran a pencil mark along the edges and sanded the corners off with sanding pad in the electric drill and then finished them by hand.

What do you box makers think.

MICKYG
17th February 2006, 06:57 PM
Barry thats a great box, how will he go when he gets some tools?

Regards Mike;)

Barry_White
17th February 2006, 07:05 PM
Barry thats a great box, how will he go when he gets some tools?

Regards Mike;)

I shudder to think. I'll never catch up.

Auld Bassoon
17th February 2006, 07:18 PM
G'day Barry,

Given the tools (in fact, regardless of the tools!), I think he's done a terrific job, and even the crapiata looks good :eek:

For heaven's sake, though, don't let him buy some good tools as he's likely to make some folks rather embarassed :D

Give him a big "well done" from this quarter anyway!

jow104
17th February 2006, 07:25 PM