PDA

View Full Version : Suggestions for a small sail boat

Don Nethercott
23rd February 2006, 11:07 PM
I've never built a boat before, and never sailed one either, apart from accompanying a friend on his sailer one day.

However as I live on a river, figure I should try a bit of sailing, and as I like woodwork, why not make my own.

Looking for something simple and cheap, for starters anyway.

Does anyone have any suggestions. I have been looking at Murray Isles designs, particularly the Aurette and the Auray - any comments on these.

PS I have no idea what terms such as 2ply chine boats, 4 strip planked and cold moulded mean (read these terms in other posts in this forum).

Thanks
Don

bitingmidge
24th February 2006, 12:39 AM
Don,

This may sound all biased and flippant; it's not meant to be!

Have you been following our Puddleduck thread??http://www.woodworkforums.ubeaut.com.au/showthread.php?t=28107

You seriously won't get a cheaper, better boat to experiment and learn on than this, and with the smaller of the rigs that we are using, it is a great kids/beginners boat. They may not look quite as romantic as some of the other designs, but are a doddle to build and sail.

If you build it out of top notch materials, and use store-bought hardware, it should cost a little over $300.00, but with a bit of scrounging and a little resourcefulness, you'll save a third of that, so it's not a big investment.

Check out the links at http://www.pdracer.com as well for more information.

I have a fair bit of sailing/boating experience, as does Michael Storer (the Puddleduck is not one of his designs, although he will shortly be offering a complete set of plans for free, to go with our construction notes) and we both believe this has the greatest potential for a beginner builder and sailor. Which is why I'm building two of them.... to get people out on the water.

I'd then wait until you had a little more experience before making a decision on the next boat.