PDA

View Full Version : Turning the bottom of the bowl? Help please

chitswood
3rd March 2006, 02:59 PM
I have been turning bowls for a few years now, but I cant seem to find a very good way to sand and finish the bottom of the bowl the way I would like to. How is the bottom of the bowl sanded? Is there some tool or technique I dont know?

Also, I have seen signatures on the bottom of bowls, is this just done with a pen? I suspect it was burnt on?:confused: :confused:
Thanks in advance for the help -Darick

ribot
3rd March 2006, 04:15 PM
Not trying to be smart, but which bottom do you mean? Inside or outside bottom.

chitswood
3rd March 2006, 04:20 PM
The outside.

DavidG
3rd March 2006, 04:27 PM
Two ways for a start.
1 -- Finish the bottom before starting on the inside. The whole outside is done first. This leaves a disguised holding point so you need a good chuck to hold the bowl with out leaving much mark.

2 -- As you do now then, when the inside is finished turn the bowl around and hold with either bowl jaws or vacuum chuck (or a jam fit) whilst you finish the bottom.

The writing can be done with a pen (before finish) or burnt on after finish.

ribot
3rd March 2006, 04:39 PM
What DavidG said.
I usually use the friction fit/jam fit.
The key is to finish before you flip it round.
Whilst on the subject and not trying to highjack the thread, how do you stop the stain which occurs when I use a chuck(nova) to hold the bowl by the base.(black stain where jaws contact wood, usually green/Red gum.)

DavidG
3rd March 2006, 06:33 PM
(black stain where jaws contact wood, usually green/Red gum.)
Wet wood problem. Use sheet plastic to prevent wet wood to metal contact. Bit of garbage bag.
Also do not close too tight. Just enough to hold.

Skew ChiDAMN!!
4th March 2006, 12:48 AM