PDA

View Full Version : Fitting out the new shed

TommyC
5th March 2006, 08:22 AM
Gday all, my first post.....

Reading this forum over the last few months, i can see that this is a group of people who are pretty passionate about their woodwork.

I have been building a shed (retreat, palace, cave or whatever name suits on the day) in my back garden over the last few months. It will be a fantastic place to do all sorts of STUFF!! I have picked up quite a few useful tips from the forum that i have incorporated into my shed, so i thought i should tell you all about how i am going about building mine.

I am a project manager for a construction company, so am as long on handy contacts as i am short on practical ability in the building department. I have used subbies to put most of my shed together, and have obtained a building permit from a private building surveyor prior to commencing works (almost.....impatience got the better of me at the start!)

It is a 7m x 3.5m concrete slab with a pine framed weatherboard clad structure, internal height is 2.5m to u/s of trusses. The roof is colourbond with insulation, and i have packed the walls with sound insulation material (Tontine material used for packing office partition walls) before lining the inside with 10mm hardwood faced poplar core ply. plenty of Fluoro lights, four windows and a dunny (to avoid unscheduled concentration disrupting trips inside...) I have a 1m wide verandah over the windows which provides good shade from direct sun in the afternoons. Will build a deck out there one day. At the back, and opening separately is a double door cupboard where all the gardening (read "non woodwork related") items are quarantined.

Inside is lots of power points (9) laid out so there is good access to power from anywhere in the shed and a roller door on the front, so i can open it right up.

Plan to build my first ever bench soon, but with Baby #1 due any day i can see that this will be a loooong proces, however enjoyable!