PDA

View Full Version : Gifkins Jig

Bluegum
5th March 2006, 11:06 AM
I am looking at trying my hand at some box making, I think there is nothing finer than dovetailed boxes. I have no experience with dovetails and after seeing the Gifkin's when doing a search. I ask if many members have one and how good are they. I was after a bit of feedback before deciding which jig was right for me. the jig looks fairly simle to use and I hope that Roger will be at the brisbane WWW show. Thanks for any advice.

Just George
5th March 2006, 12:22 PM
Roger always comes to the WoodShow, his jig is very good but you need to establish the thickness timber you want to work with first before you buy otherwise you could end up with the incorrect template. I have a Gifkins Jig(and 3 templates), you are welcome to come and see it, I live near the city which is a bit of a drive for you but the offer is there. Send me a PM if you are interested. There are also a few other option other than the Gifkins as well, these I haven't used but they are worth a look at though.

Grunt
5th March 2006, 12:34 PM
I think it is just great. The Gifkin jig is about the easiest jig on the market to use. I've got a couple of templates.

Ashore
5th March 2006, 12:50 PM
I am looking at trying my hand at some box making, I think there is nothing finer than dovetailed boxes. I have no experience with dovetails and after seeing the Gifkin's when doing a search. I ask if many members have one and how good are they. I was after a bit of feedback before deciding which jig was right for me. the jig looks fairly simle to use and I hope that Roger will be at the brisbane WWW show. Thanks for any advice.
Definitely the gifkin for mine, but have a look at his box making router bits as well these are also very handy

Rgds

Zoot
5th March 2006, 02:12 PM