PDA

View Full Version : Domino Jointer

Pages : [1] 2

martini
21st March 2006, 03:57 PM
Has anyone bought or used the new Domino jointer? If so, any feedback would be appreciated.

Martin.

underused
21st March 2006, 05:48 PM
I wanted to buy one, but couldnt find it here in Japan:o I settled for a lamello, and saved some money;)
Cheers. Gary.

doug the slug
21st March 2006, 08:51 PM
Hi Martini,
I was given a full demo of the Domino system yesterday. I went to our local building supplies place to order some concrete colour for work, but they know i do concrete for a living and woodwork for fun, so they thought it might be worth their while showing it to me.

Basically all it is is a loose tennon system, with the loose tennons being made out of the same materials used for biscuit joints and a bit smaller in most cases. the machine, which resembles a biscuit joiner, uses a sort of a drill bit to make the mortices, probably cross between a drill bit and a spiral upcut router bit. the bit oscillates from side to side to accommodate one of the 3 standard size "dominos".

It seems ok if you are going to do a lot of stuff that it suits, but i cant justify $1200 for it personally. it is quick,strong and versatile if you have enough work that suits it tho. Theres a demo dvd you can get from festool dealers free

TassieKiwi
22nd March 2006, 07:18 AM
I've handled one, and would've bought it without hesitation - I set my mental limit at $600. It appears to be superbly thought out and put together, but for the home workshop that already has everything.......if money is really no object its OK, but I think overpriced to buggery. It will not do larger M&T's either -max depth 25mm. A small joinery shop maybe could justfy it, but I would think that they'd be already set up with something else for M&T's. I don't think that they'll be a big seller.

My $1200 is reserved for a 10"TS.

Mirboo
22nd March 2006, 09:12 AM
I don't think that they'll be a big seller.