PDA

View Full Version : LP v HPLV guns

greenie512
21st March 2006, 07:56 PM
Okay, it’s time to “blood” myself – I’ve had the Trade Tools 3hp compressor kit sat in the corner for 4 months. I’ve just finished some simple MDF office storage units for my sister-in-law so no excuse but to spray paint them.
<o></o>
Now I’ve never used this kinda gear before, so which gun would you recommend: - <o></o>
Low pressure
HPLV<o></o>I’ll be happy with an “average” good finish as my first attempt. The units will get buried under a pile of paper/folders and dust in no time.

I know there’s loads of advice out on the net and here – I’ve just looking for some quick/short hints.

Greg Q
21st March 2006, 08:10 PM
I have used an old style high pressure gun, but own a hvlp gun now.

The hvlp is much cleaner-overspray reduced drastically, and I can use it in my worshop after draping some tarps up behind/beside the target. One caveat-I have a "15 CFM" compressor, but it actually produces approx 11 cfm free air. Most hvlp guns need around that much to work properly. Certainly they need more flow than a high presure gun.

The hvlp gun lofts the product onto the workpiece, more like a mist than the blast of air/paint the high pressure guns produce. There is a learning curve, but most of it is self-evident.

I hope that this helps

greg

greenie512
21st March 2006, 08:15 PM
Hi Greg, hope the games aren't getting in your way in Melbourne. My compressor turns out 280 Litre per minute - what ever that equates at cfm!

see - http://www.tradetools.com.au/ProdView.aspx?popup=1&Category=SXF01&Product=RP15E

Cheers - Phil

Greg Q
21st March 2006, 09:11 PM
I just checked mine-its 380 litres nominal, but 241 litres free-air delivery.

I bought my hvlp gun on eBay for $65.00-its been great so far (total of maybe :45 minutes usage). There was a thread a few months back about this, but I can't recall the recommendations.

I'm ignoring the games, and they are ignoring me, so everybody's happy.;)