PDA

View Full Version : Help with workbench

mkat
28th March 2006, 08:20 PM
I've generously been given some wood, which I'll be making a workbench from (open base for now, but may add some storage). I have two leg assemblies (see the out of proportion pic below), top (two of 1800 x 280 x 40mm, I have another two similar pieces that I'll use to make the size to around 650mm wide). The timber doesn't look or feel like hardwood, looks like oregon (not pine) but is heavy. I've read the warnings about making a bench using oregon. However, since all this stuff has cost me nothing, I'm happy to make a go of it and attempt to reinforce it as much as possible. I've also read some info here and reference links to various workbench pages that have been helpful.

So, given the type of timber I'll be using and the leg assemblies I currently have, I have some questions since I'm still learning about all this stuff:

- What are the best options for the stretchers and to build or complete the base? I have 70 x 60mm long pieces of timber that I can glue one on top of the other if need be to make them wider. As far as I know I could use a through M & T joints or maybe a blind M & T joint with a bolt into the stretcher end grain, where the nut is adjustable through a hole in the side of the stretchers. Or maybe something better, but I don't know what. Although I'm thinking of an open base now, even if the stretchers are wider, there may still be enough room for some (very little...) storage