PDA

View Full Version : new festools

taskitchen
4th April 2006, 08:22 PM
what do you think about the festool ps 300 barrel grip jig saw and the 1400 router, because i am a first year apprentice cabinet maker and i am thinking about buying these in the next couple of weeks. I would also like the domino machine but i would rather buy the jig saw and router this year and maybe get the donino next year. so what do you think? what would be a better choice?
Thanks

DPB
4th April 2006, 08:42 PM
I think for an apprentice you have a lot of money!:D

riri
4th April 2006, 08:57 PM
what do you think about the festool ps 300 barrel grip jig saw and the 1400 router, because i am a first year apprentice cabinet maker and i am thinking about buying these in the next couple of weeks. I would also like the domino machine but i would rather buy the jig saw and router this year and maybe get the donino next year. so what do you think? what would be a better choice?
Thanks

Hi there. I have owned a trion ps 300 for about 3 years now and i love it. First the feel is superb. It is a pure joy to handle above the table or below the table. Then you have the precision. There no other jigsaw that i know of that can follow a line with such precision. Lastly, i love to have the power when you need it. With an extra long blage i managed to go through some pretty thick solid wood i never thought possible. I can confirm also the claim that cuts always are straight. You only realise the benefits when you go back to your old jigsaw.

As for the router i have a 1010 and i have had it for 4 years now. I use it all the time for small jobs. The 1400 i dont know. Maybe it is a bit heavy for my taste and the use i have.

John Saxton
4th April 2006, 09:12 PM
Obviously you've considered what you're going to need in furthering your needs in the trade and Festo will certainly give you a quality machine.