PDA

View Full Version : Pencil commission

Andy Mac
12th April 2006, 11:34 AM
Hi there all you pen turners!
I have a question that may turn into a request to have one made, but can a decent pencil be made using the hardware available? I guess I mean a clutch type, or something with replaceable leads, as I usually draw with 2B and they use up fairly quickly.
If someone is prepared to make me one I'll pay, but maybe you'd be interested in swapping for some timbers in my stash! I've been hoarding for 20 years and many pieces are scraps too small for most furniture work but may be of interest.:D

Cheers,

bitingmidge
12th April 2006, 11:58 AM
I've thought of giving it a go on many occasions, a clutch pencil is a simple barrel so it shouldn't be too hard.

On the other hand, I also bought a .7mm plastic "pentel" to steal the workings from a few years ago to do the same thing.

Don't hold your breath for me Andy, but I'd love to see the pics when someone does get one done.

Cheers,

P

CameronPotter
12th April 2006, 12:21 PM
Andy - are you just meaning a simple "pacer" type mechanical pencil?

If so, I can do you one of those very fast. Although, the range of pencil mechanisms are fairly limited.

I have a "Longwood" pencil mechanism (see Jim Carroll's site - www.cws.au.com (http://www.cws.au.com) I think) that is just sitting around as well as the cheaper slimlines.

If you want something like that, just let me know.

As for a pencil for wood swap - let's just say that I am very interested (although I wouldn't necessarily want them cut into pen blank sizes)...

Cam

ps I also would obviously have no problem if you wanted to go with a more experienced/different turner... :)

Andy Mac
12th April 2006, 01:06 PM
Thanks guys, its sounding positive so far. I just did a bit of websearch and found this brand: Polaris Satin Pencil - #PKPOLPCLS Brushed stainless and a fairly fat body, would show off a nice timber! Are these available in Australia?

Cheers,

CameronPotter