PDA

View Full Version : 4 Jaw Chucks

abungate
31st May 2002, 11:14 AM
Hi All,

I am thinking of buying a 4-jaw self centering chuck. But, there seems to be quite a number of manufacturers, as well as models within the manufacturer.

What brand/model do people find best?

I am a beginner turner, so ease of use is something to consider. I will be making boxes, maybe some bowls. My lathe is the Hafco WL-18.

Ive heard a few good things about the Nova chuck. What are peoples thoughts there?

Any advice on what to look out for would be much appreciated.

Thanks

Andrew

Tim the Timber Turner
31st May 2002, 02:36 PM
The early Nova's were Bloody awfull. I sent my first 2 back because they wouldn't run true. Not long after that they included a data sheet specifying the total runout of each chuck. This told me they had a real problem with quality control.

These chucks rattled after a while because of wear in the scroll. The steel quality was not very good. Beware of any chuck that is chemicaly blackened, this is done to stop it rusting. This is not done to a Vicmarc or Bonham, which indicates the steel, being of a better quality resists rust (and wear).

I have a mate that has one of the new key operated Nova's. When the chuck is done up with the key and the key inserted into the other hole the gears don't meet, so you can't use that 2nd position.
Over the years I have been asked a number of times, to look at chucks that people have had problems with and with one exception they have all been Novas.

You Get's what you pay for. Be Australian buy Australian. Vicmark first, Bonham second.

------------------
Some days I turns thisaway, somedays I turns thataway and other days I don't turn at all.

Iain
31st May 2002, 05:43 PM
Of course you could really hit rock bottom and get a Record.
I have heard they are a real joy to set up and employ a rubber band to hold them together.

cliff cook
1st June 2002, 12:02 AM