PDA

View Full Version : canoe plans for a novice?

julianx
21st May 2006, 08:32 PM
With much trepidation I venture into the elite world of the 'wooden boat builders:D to humbly ask advice.
My son and I need to do a project together and i reacon a canoe would be ideal since the finished product should be at least as much fun as the building of it.
I'd like to use it for camping so it would need to be big enough to carry two people and camping gear for a long week end.
Since my 13 year old son has the attention span of a......well, of a 13 year old:D it would need to be quick and easy to build.
We are both almost complete novices in this field and therefore need somthing that is easy to use and hard to sink.

Can anyone suggest some plans that fit all or at least most of our criterior.
I read with much enthusiasim biting midges tale about the eureka canoe but I'm not sure it would be quite big enough, please correct me if I am wrong as other than size it looks ideal.
Oh, did I mention I'm a single parent so the budget is about $300 max

Thanks in advance
Julian

bitingmidge
21st May 2006, 09:59 PM
Julian,

Biased though I may be, I'm sure you'd find the Eureka big enough for two and a HEAP of gear!

You also won't find an easier build, so just go for it!

You're welcome to come for a drive to the Sunshine Coast and check it out, I'll send you a PM with my contact details.

Cheers,

P

julianx
22nd May 2006, 02:10 PM
Thanks for the reply Peter. I think I will go with the Eureka. thanks for the inspection offer too, I might take you up on it if I get a chance.

deepdug
27th May 2006, 02:53 PM
The Eureka is ideal for the conditions you have mentioned except that I do not believe that it will fit into your budget.

If you look at the building thread you will see my estimated costs.

I have a couple of other concerns as well. If you email me your address at [email protected] I will give you some areas where caution is required.

Cheers,

Doug Pearce

Daddles