PDA

View Full Version : Leady Lathes

trover
23rd May 2006, 01:14 AM
I also am in the market for a better lathe, while I am no turning expert, far from it, I do know that good tools are a joy to use, and my supercheap lathe - well what did I expect for $100.

With much interest- at the Brisbane wood show, I watched a demonstration on a Leady lathe, working quite slow speed, and also turning oval shapes.

Is there an owner of one of these lathes, and can you give an indication of cost, and any comments, please?

hughie
23rd May 2006, 01:21 AM
[Is there an owner of one of these lathes, and can you give an indication of cost, and any comments, please?[/quote]

Trover have a look at this post for some info on prices etc
http://www.woodworkforums.ubeaut.com.au/showthread.php?t=31319

and this one for detailed info on Bruce Leadbetter and his lathes etc

http://members.ozemail.com.au/~kjeeves/leady/leady1.html

hughie

trover
23rd May 2006, 01:42 AM
thanks for the quick reply.
Hmm I wonder who I was talking to at the wood show?
However, that was an easy choice, I'll give him a call.

p.s. I seems I`m not the only one still awake

hughie
23rd May 2006, 01:45 AM
p.s. I seems I`m not the only one still awake
[/QUOTE]

no worries :D By the way, currently Bruce is out of lathes But you can give him a ring here in sydney. Hes a real obliging sort of fella.

hughie

Bruce Leadbeatter
59 Turton Avenue
Clempton Park
NSW 2206
Australia

Telephone: (61 2) 9718 5395

trover
6th July 2006, 01:21 AM
WellI took your advice, flew to Sydney, caught the bus out to see Bruce Leadbetter, and my wife and I were honoured to spend the morning and lunch with Bruce. His years of patient tuition certianly show, as he demonstrates the lathe, and all his tools. We came away having ordered a lathe, the ring cutter in the bag, and a couple of Bruce's chisels in the bag - how could I not? My ownderful wife paid for the trip and the lathe. I look forward to delivery in a few weeks.

Cliff Rogers